LAURA DE CANDIDO

PERSONAL INFORMATION

Born in: I'm from Pontebba, a small village near Austrian and Slovenian border.
Family and friends: I have no brothers or sisters. My mum drives the school bus of my city. My dad drived trucks around Europe, now he is a pensioner.
Religion: I am Catholic .
Schooling: Scientific liceum. 
Other sports: When I was younger I did short track and inline.

10 PERSONAL QUESTIONS

What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
When I'm not able to do something for reach my goals. I handle it eating nutella, chocolate, ice cream or I go for a walk.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you ‘dress to impress’? 
Not many.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
For one day I would be someone relaxed, because doesn't think about problems.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 
Skate faster. 
What is your biggest motivation in life?
Make my family proud.
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I'm worried that my best could be not enough.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
Grinta!
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I don't know yet.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
Being Italian.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
My hair, I would have them more straight and lighter.

FAVOURITES AND BESTS

What do you eat for recovery: Pizza, pasta, lasagne, nutella, chocolate, ice cream... Italian food.
Favourite Movie: The gladiator.  
Favourite Love Song: 883 - Nessun rimpianto.
Favourite Book: La moglie dell'uomo che viaggiava nel tempo.
Favourite Car: I don't care about cars.
Favourite Country: Italy
Best compliment: You are smart.
Best memory: An afternoon in Rome with my aunt.
Best way to ‘dress to impress’: When I have to go out I don't have the time for decide so I wear the first dress i find.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Someone who is able to escape.
Favourite Speed Skater: Enrico Fabris
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Daniele Molmenti 
Favourite Ice Rink: Thialf Heerenveen

SPEED SKATING AND COACHING

Coaches: From Maurizio De Monte I learned that I have more than what I think. From Chiara Simionato: I learn to step away from who says that you will never be good in something.
Started Skating: I started in my city with short track when I was 6 .
Training Time: 4-6 hours every day.
Skates: Boots and blades Viking.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
In 2009 I raced my first Viking race, it was my first race in a foreign country, I finished 5th. In 2012 I went to the youth Olympics games, but I'm not happy about my results.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
In 2009 at the Viking race 5th place.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I would like to forget some seasons, because I couldn't train on ice (I live 4hours of travel from Baselga Di Pinè) and for that I wasn't skating faster.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I want to be stronger and skate faster.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events? 
When the training is hard at least 9hours, but when I'm resting 6hours are enough.

 

  • en

AmbassaDOORS

  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE

Laura

BIO

Name: Laura de Candido
Country: Italy
Birthdate: 11/07/1996
Height: 164 cm
Weight: 59 kg
Eye colour: green
Shoe size: 39

 

Personal Records

500: 43,47
1000: 1.26,04
1500: 2.13,61
3000: 4.50,55