Born in: I was born in Adavere and it is really small village in Estonia.
Family and friends: I have one brother and he is older than me. In the past he did speed skating and now he is in military. My parents are working.
Schooling: I am studying in high school and i will graduate next year.
Hobbies: I like to play darts and table tennis.
Other sports: I like to play football and I love inline skating.


What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
When I will get a injury. It depends what kind of injury but I will make less training sessions or just rest.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
No I would not share it.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day?  
I´am spending 5 minutes in front of the mirror each day.
If you could change your life, which person would you like to be for one day?  Why?
I would like to be Cristiano Ronaldo for one day because he is one of the best footballer in the world.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 
My dream is to compete in Olympic games. 
What is your biggest worry for the future?
I do not have worries for the future.
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'?
Never give up!
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do?
I have no idea what I will do when I finish speed skating career.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of?
I´m proud to represent Estonia in International level.
If there was one part of yourself that you could change, what would it be?
I would like to have new knees.


What do you eat for recovery: Sometimes I´m drinking protein and I like to eat pasta.
Favourite Movie: Southpaw
Favourite Music: Kanye West - Stronger
Favourite Love Song: Ed Sheeran - Give me love
Favourite Book: I do not have a favourite book.
Favourite Car: Shelby GT500
Favourite Country: Estonia
Best compliment: I´am still waiting for it.
Best memory: When I got 3rd place in Viking Race. That feeling was awesome.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: I would like to be stuck on a deserted island with Kaspar because he is going with Bear Grylls.
Favourite Speed Skater: Kjeld Nuis
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Kevin Durant
Favourite Ice Rink: Inzell


Coaches: My previous coach was Väino Treiman and I learned from him how to train hard.
Started Skating: Because my brother did speed skating and one day my previous coach suggested me to try speed skates.  It happend 9 years ago.
Training Time: Normally I´am training 3-4 hours per day and 6-7 days per week.
Skates:  I have Luigino boots and Maple blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
I think my first important race was Vikingrace 2011. I was 9th in 500m.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
Last season I got 7th place in Junior World Cup in Minsk.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I do not want to forget any speed skating results. 
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
I would like to improve my technique.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events? 
I´am sleeping about 8 hours per day. I can sleep easily during important events.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
Be cool.
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day?
I will do a lot of training sessions to achieve it. Concentration is a key to everything.


  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE



Name: Marten Liiv
Country: Estonia
Birthdate: 23/12/1996
Height: 182 cm
Weight: 74 kg
Eye colour: brown


Personal Records

500: 35,99
1000: 1.10,91
1500: 1.51,09
3000: 4.00,15
5000: 7.14,53