Born in: I'm from Helsinki.
Family and friends: I have one sister who used to speedskate too. She is two years older than me.
Religion: I am religious and I believe in god. I am evangelical lutheran.
Schooling: I just got my High school studies done. 
Hobbies: When I have time I like to listen to music.
Other sports: Sometimes in the summer I like to play tennis with my friends.


What can make you sad in life and how do you handle that?
When I fail in something. My sadness doesn't last for long, because I'm good in handling problems.
Can you share a situation with us in which you can be very shy?
When I meet new people.
What are you ashamed of?
I'm not ashamed of anyhting.
How many minutes do you spend in front of the mirror each day? And how do you ‘dress to impress’?
Less than 5 minutes.
Is there something that you often dream of achieving? 
I dream about winning at the olympics.
What is your biggest motivation in life? 
To have a journey towards my dreams
Is there a motto in your life that will 'keep you going'? 
Just keep on going cause hard work pays off.  
When you have finished your speed skating career do you have already know what you will do? 
I want to be a lawyer.
Is there anything in your life where you are the most proud of? 
I'm proud of my roots.


What do you eat for recovery: For recovery I eat bananas and chocolate milk. My favourite food is long braised lamb.
Favourite Movie: I don't have one spesific movie as my favourite. I like many movies from classic disney movies to modern fantasy.  
Favourite Music: I like different types of music from EDM to classic rock. I like finnish music too.
Favourite Love Song: goo goo dolls - Iris.
Favourite Book: Mika Waltari, Sinuhe egyptiläinen
Favourite Car: Alfa romeo, Giulietta
Favourite Country: Finland
Best compliment: I need you.
Best memory: From my summer holidays in Italy with my family.
Best way to ‘dress to impress’: Wear nice and good looking clothes.
Best person to be stuck on a deserted island with: Someone who can make food..
Favourite Speed Skater: Sven Kramer
Favourite Athlete in another sport: Football: Neymar Jr. Athletics: Renaud Lavillenie. Tennis: Novak Djokovic.  
Favourite Ice Rink: Inzell


Coaches: In finland I have had many coaches: Jason Andberg, Timo Risku, Ilkka Rahnasto. I learned that training can make one better.
Started Skating: I started skating when I was nine years old when my father brought me to try speed skating.
Training Time: Normally I train around 2-5 hours a Day 6 times a week.
Skates: I have Viking custom boots and maple flex blades.
What was your first important speed skating event and how did you race?
My first important speed skating event was in 2006 when I had my first silverskate races. I finished the race 7th.
Are there any highlights in your career that are the most special for you?
The biggest highlights have been winning national championships and achieving my own goals based on times.
Which personal skating result would you like to forget and why?
I'd like to forget last World Junior championships where I skated really badly, because I was sick and I had had many injuries that season.
What would you like to develop as a speed skater?
To be faster in general. To do that I must develop my technique and physics.
How many hours do you sleep per day? And can you sleep easily during important events? 
I sleep 9-10 hours and maybe 30-60min nap during the day.
Is there anything that you would you like to say to your fans?
I'm happy that you support me. Thank you!
Will you be an Olympic Champion one day?
Yes I Will be!!! I will train hard and learn from coaches and other skaters.


  • en


  • Group 4 Securicor
  • Clafis Engineering
  • X-Tend Craft
  • Aegon
  • Boukens Ice & Climate Solutions
  • Viking
  • Sportconfex
  • Allianz Nederland Groep N.V.
What are ambassaDOORS? READMORE



Name: Tuomas Rahnasto
Country: Finland
Birthdate: 10/11/1996
Height: 184 cm
Weight: 70 kg
Eye colour: green
Shoe Size: 42,5


Personal Records

500: 38,09
1000: 1.14,30
1500: 1.55,39
3000: 3.53,94
5000: 7.04,98